Skip to main content


Texas Bluebonnet Award Program

Texas Bluebonnet Award Program

The Texas Bluebonnet Award reading program was established in 1979 to motivate students in grades 3 through 6 to read outstanding new children’s literature. The Award is given annually to one of 20 nominees selected by the Texas Library Association.  Students in grades 3-6 must read 5 of the 20 books nominated for the award in order to be eligible to vote for their favorite book.  Voting occurs near the end of January.  Here at Galatas we encourage students to read as many as they can and we offer means of tracking their progress.  Students will receive small awards at they reach goals of reading 5, 10, 15, and finally all 20 books on the list.  If students read all 20, they will be invited to a party at the end of the school year.  Let’s keep our kiddos reading!

View 2017-2018 Bluebonnet List and Resources

Student Resources

Resources to help students with homework and research